SKU: ATNR022 Categories: , Tag:


Second album and as with its predecessor it is an album of traditional songs, but unlike The Bitter Harvest which consisted predominantly of unaccompanied songs the tracks on The Amfortas Wound are accompanied by drones, loops, harmonium and flute organ arrangements.

For these arrangements Andrew King was joined by fellow travelers Hunter Barr in charge of the mastering and mixing and with additional drones supplied by Andrew Trail and drums from Jonh Murphy. Understandably, with these collaborators The Amfortas Wound is a darker album than its predecessor but it should be emphasized that it is still first and foremost an album of traditional song to which Andrew King has brought his noted academic expertise and considerable experience in vernacular culture.

The extensive full color digipak booklet that Athanor has provided contains complete lyrics as well as critical notes that place each song within its historic, vernacular and textual context, whether as 18th Century Broadside ballad, Masonic initiation song or heroic example of Medieval pan-European Balladry. As well as the text the booklet is illustrated by four of Andrew Kings paintings, the title painting and three of his Alchemical Emblems.

Digipak CD with 16-page booklet with all the texts and info on each song.


1. The Week Before Easter
2. Worcester City
3. The Wild Wild Berry
4. Down In The Meadow
5. Lord Thomas And Fair Ellanor
6. The Prentice Boy
7. Cruel Lincoln
8. Love Henry
9. The Knight Templar’s Dream
10. Gethsemene
11. Sweet Williams Ghost


Additional information

Weight 5 oz