SKU: TPRT-1 Categories: , Tag:


Robert N. Taylor and Changes need no introduction and this, the group’s follow-up to their 1970’s musical time-warp “Fire of Life,” is stunning. Many of you will recall that the first CD contained a remarkable Eddic ballad entitled “The Stranger In the Mirror,” which in reality was only a mere one-sixth of the entire composition. Since then, of course, Changes have returned to the studio after more than two decades and added the outstanding five sections to their enduring Legends masterpiece. Coupled with the Vikingesque tales of Thor and Odin, these additional excursions into the realms of superhuman heroics and ancient derring-do concern the brave deeds of notable characters such as Galahad, El Cid, Ulysses, Lancelot, Aeneas, Prince Igor, Arthur and Merlin; as well as a whole host of romantic beauties (both earthly and godlike) such as Venus, Penelope, Guinevere, Elvira and Sol. Against these heroes and heroines stand the vanquished enemies of Europa, aristocratic weaklings, and victims of trickery and cunning. Relying on the engineering skills of Robert Ferbrache, Tesluk’s 12-string guitar strums and picks its way amid Taylor’s smooth vocals and fine delivery. As the beautifully calligraphed lyrics in the CD booklet reveal, one of the most striking things about the Legends ode is the structure itself. The various historical epochs represent a continuous whole but are here suitably broken into six musical areas. Oswald Spengler would have been proud that his – indeed, our – lost heritage has at last found a voice.
From a review by Troy Southgate

Track Listing

  1. Part 1 – Homeric
  2. Part 2 – The Aeneid
  3. Part 3 – Eddic
  4. Part 4 – Song of Igor
  5. Part 5 – Arthurian
  6. Part 6 – El Cid


Additional information

Weight 5 oz